News and resources

MAV President and Board nominations

Publish date:

Nominations for the 2019 MAV President and Board elections have closed with four councillors contesting the presidency. Candidates are listed below in ballot paper order.

MAV President nominees:

Cr David Clark (Pyrenees)
Cr Josh Gilligan (Wyndham)
Cr Andrew Conlon (Manningham)
Cr Coral Ross (Boroondara)

Other contested MAV Board positions:

Interface Region

Cr Peter Perkins (Nillumbik)
Cr Joseph Haweil (Hume)

Metropolitan East Region

Cr Andrew Davenport (Whitehorse)
Cr Tom Melican (Banyule)
Cr Andrew Conlon (Manningham)
Cr Mike Symon (Maroondah)

Metropolitan West Region

Cr Josh Gilligan (Wyndham)
Cr Kathy Majdlik (Melton)
Cr Sandra Wilson (Hobsons Bay)

Rural North Central Region

Cr Rod Fyffe (Bendigo)
Cr Jennifer Anderson (Macedon Ranges)

Rural North East Region
Cr Wendy Buck (Moira)
Cr Ronald Janas (Alpine)

Rural South Central Region

Cr John Cottrell (Hepburn)
Cr David Clark (Pyrenees)
Cr Nathan Hansford (Golden Plains)

The MAV congratulates the six candidates whose Board positions were uncontested:

  • Metropolitan Central – Cr Rohan Leppert (Melbourne)
  • Metropolitan South East – Cr Jami Klisaris (Stonnington)
  • Metropolitan Southern – Cr Sean O’Reilly (Greater Dandenong)
  • Rural Gippsland – Cr Malcolm Hole (Wellington)
  • Rural North West – Cr Murray Emerson (Northern Grampians)
  • Rural South West – Cr Ruth Gstrein (Corangamite)

The MAV President is popularly elected by MAV Representatives. Board Members represent their regional grouping of councils and are elected by MAV Representatives from within their region.

Voting closes at 4pm on Friday, 1 March. View candidate statements on the VEC website.

For further information, contact the MAV Communications Unit on (03) 9667 5547.

– Ends –