Events and training

Victorian Councillor Service Awards

We recognise the contribution of all councillors and continue the tradition of conferring awards for long serving councillors. Councillor Service Awards Nominations are now open. Nomination close on Friday 8 October 2021.

The Victorian Councillor Service Awards comprise two awards:

  • Long service is recognised at 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 35 years' service.
  • The award of Mayor Emeritus recognises councillors who have served three or more full terms as mayor. A full term is considered 12 months. In a local government election year, a full term may be considered less than 12 months.

For further information please contact

2020 Councillor Service and Mayor Emeritus Awards

Congratulations to this year's recipients of Victorian Councillor Service Awards which were conferred online on 9 October 2020.

Mayor Emeritus Awards
Cr Marg Attley OAM’s  Mansfield Shire Council
Cr Sharon Ellis Whitehorse City Council 
Cr Brian Murray Emerson Northern Grampians Shire Council
Cr Bernard Gaffney Indigo Shire Council
Cr Christine Henderson Mount Alexander Shire Council
Cr Jamie Hyams Glen Eira City Council 
Cr Lorraine Learmonth Gannawarra Shire Council
Cr Sandra Mayer Frankston City Council
Cr Cheryl Mckinnon Loddon Shire Council
Cr Libro Mustica Moira Shire Council
Cr Jenny O'Connor Indigo Shire Council
Cr Margaret O'Rourke City of Greater Bendigo
Cr Mark Radford Horsham Rural City Council
Cr Anna Speedie Wodonga City Council
Cr Steven Stefanopoulos Stonnington City Council
Cr Lambros Tapinos Moreland City Council
35 Years' Service Awards
Cr Robert Gersch Hindmarsh Shire Council
25 Years' Service Awards
Cr Bruce Harrison Meyer West Wimmera Shire Council
Cr Robert Vance Pyrenees Shire Council 
20 Years' Service Awards
Cr David Colbert Hindmarsh Shire Council
Cr Malcolm Gerard Hole Wellington Shire Council
Cr Maria Sampey City of Greater Dandenong
15 Years' Service Awards
Cr Marg Attley OAM’s  Mansfield Shire Council
Cr Henry Barlow Wyndham City Council
Cr Neil Beattie Loddon Shire Council
Cr Bev Colomb Mornington Peninsula Shire 
Cr Brain Crook Colac Otway Shire
Cr Jim Cusack Moonee Valley City Council
Cr Sam David Brimbank City Council
Cr Peter Davis Benella Rural City Council
Cr Tony Dib Maroondah City Council
Cr Phillip Healey Boroondara City Council
Cr Ron Ismay Hindmarsh Shire Council
Cr Heather Marcus Wyndham City Council
Cr Jim Memeti City of Greater Dandenong
Cr Glenn Milne Mildura Rural City Council
Cr Barbara Murdoch Indigo Shire Council
Cr Michael Neoh Warrnambool City Council 
Cr Jim Parke Boroondara City Council
Cr Daryl Pearce Alpine Shire Council
Cr Susan Riley Melbourne City Council
Cr John Sipek Moonee Valley City Council
Cr Anna Speedie Wodonga City Council
Cr John Watson Wodonga City Council
10 Years' Service Awards
Cr Wendy Buck Moira Shire Council
Cr Lara Carli Melton City Council
Cr Antonella Celi Mornington Peninsula Shire 
Cr David Gill Mornington Peninsula Shire 
Cr Angela Long City of Greater Dandenong
Cr Frank Martin Mornington Peninsula Shire 
Cr Peter Perkins Nillumbik Shire Council 

See award recipients from previous years.

Further information

For enquiries or a Nomination Application Form contact