Protocol for inter-council resource sharing

The MAV is the custodian of the Inter-Council Emergency Management Resource Sharing Protocol (Word 271KB), which sets out an agreed position between councils regarding the provision of resources to assist other municipalities with response and recovery tasks during and after emergencies.

The protocol is intended to clarify operational, insurance and reimbursement issues that may arise through municipal resource-sharing arrangements.

The protocol is consistent with the concepts and policy guidelines articulated in the Emergency Management Act 2013 and the State Emergency Management Plan.

Council adoption of the protocol is voluntary. It is not intended to inhibit or diminish the effectiveness of any existing inter-council resource sharing arrangement. Councils should review any existing arrangements to ensure that issues identified in this protocol are addressed.

Councils are asked to recommit to the protocol every four years. They can opt in or out of the protocol arrangements at any time by notifying us in writing and providing 30 days’ notice.

Version 3 (Word - 271KB) of the protocol came into effect in February 2021.

Human Resource Sharing Database

The MAV also established a Human Resource Sharing Database following the 19/20 North Eastern Victoria and East Gippsland fires to log offers of assistance from the local government sector. It is intended to only activate the use of the database in major emergencies to facilitate resource sharing.

Further information on the MAV Human Resource Sharing Database is provided in the MAV Human Resource Sharing Database FAQ (PDF - 232KB).

Case Study

The MAV and East Gippsland Shire Council developed a Case Study (PDF - 381KB) following the 2019/20 East Gippsland fires to share lessons from the implementation of the protocol in the large-scale disaster.

Protocol signatories

Councils that are currently signatories are formally indicating their support for the principles of the protocol. Under the Alpine Resorts (Management) Act 1997, the board of an alpine resort is deemed to be a municipal council for the purposes of the Emergency Management Act (1986). Therefore, alpine resorts are eligible to be signatories to the protocol.

Alpine Shire CouncilGreater Dandenong City CouncilMornington Peninsula Shire Council
Ararat Rural City Council Greater Geelong City CouncilMount Alexander Shire Council
Ballarat City CouncilGreater Shepparton City CouncilMoyne Shire Council
Banyule City CouncilHepburn Shire Council Murrindindi Shire Council
Baw Baw Shire CouncilHobsons Bay City Council Nillumbik Shire Council
Bayside City CouncilHume City CouncilNorthern Grampians Shire Council
Benalla Rural City CouncilIndigo Shire CouncilPort Phillip City Council
Boroondara City Council Kingston City CouncilPyrenees Shire Council
Brimbank City CouncilKnox City CouncilSouth Gippsland Shire Council
Buloke Shire CouncilLatrobe City CouncilSouthern Grampians Shire Council
Cardinia Shire CouncilLoddon Shire Council Strathbogie Shire Council
Casey City CouncilMacedon Ranges Shire Council Surf Coast Shire
Central Goldfields Shire CouncilManningham City CouncilSwan Hill Rural City Council
Colac Otway ShireMansfield Shire CouncilTowong Shire Council
Corangamite Shire CouncilMaribyrnong City CouncilWangaratta Rural City Council
Darebin City CouncilMaroondah City CouncilWarrnambool City Council
East Gippsland Shire Council Melbourne City CouncilWellington Shire Council
Falls Creek Resort ManagementMelton City CouncilWest Wimmera Shire Council
Frankston City CouncilMerri-bek City Council
(Formerly Moreland City Council)
Whittlesea City Council
Gannawarra Shire CouncilMildura Rural City CouncilWhitehorse City Council
Glen Eira City CouncilMitchell Shire CouncilWodonga City Council
Glenelg Shire CouncilMoira Shire CouncilWyndham City
Golden Plains Shire CouncilMoonee Valley City CouncilYarra City Council
Greater Bendigo City CouncilMoorabool Shire CouncilYarra Ranges Shire Council